And now… something entirely different! :)

red butterfly

I know that I still have to finish that indoor photo blog of different plants, but I couldn’t wait to share with you some news. What news? Well… the camera went out! Yep, you heard well! ๐Ÿ™‚ If someone’s here for the first time, they’ll surely wonder what can be so special about camera going out, cameras normally serve to be taken around and capture special moments… well, in my case, camera didn’t go out for years, so this is a major event. It’s not that it exactly hit the road on a wild tour, it just walked with me around the building several days ago, but it’s still a huge step. And we were lucky enough to be greeted by a fearless butterfly, proudly posing for our first outdoor photo! I couldn’t have asked for more… ๐Ÿ™‚

We also had a very funny encounter with an elderly lady who arrived from the bus station and found me standing in deep grass, staring at something on the ground. I had already made a photo of the butterfly, but I wanted to make another one just in case… and he decided to tease me a little bit, closing his pretty wings on me, so I was waiting for them to open again. The lady approached me and said – Hey you, kid (I look quite younger than my age but I am rarely among people, so whenever this happens it reminds me of that funny age-look dissonance) what are you doing in that deep grass?? Ticks are dangerous… do you know what a tick is? :)) I almost started laughing like a madman, but I somehow refrained myself – I could have made her a long speech on Lyme disease and available treatments, percentage of infected ticks etc. and there she was, asking me if I know what a tick was! Maybe it would be better for my nerves if I actually didn’t know any of what I do, but I’m a very well informed hypochondriac among other things. So I just replied – yes I know what they are, no worries. And she objected again – But they are dangerous, get out of that grass! I repeated – It’s really ok, this grass is hit by totally boiling sun, and anyhow it’s not their season, but thank you anyway… That’s how we closed the tick subject, but she still wanted to know what I was doing in the grass :)) – when the butterfly suddenly opened his wings again! I grabbed the bag and took the camera out hastily, which scared the lady as she jumped away, and then started laughing… Oh you just want to take a grass photo… :)) (she failed to see the butterfly). Then she wandered happily away down the forest convinced that I am both tick safe and sane, and me and the butterfly completed our little shooting session.

wild flowers

I continued my walk making a circle around the building and taking some more photos of wild flowers – if you asked anybody round here about them, they would just shrug and say – those are flowers?? Just plain wild grass growing everywhere, they’d better mow it soon… yet look how beautiful they are! Sometimes I think that our neighborhood is not particularly nice, apart from having a lot of green areas. Photos like this make me change my mind. ๐Ÿ™‚

white butterfly on wild flowers

Here I closed the full circle around the block, found another butterfly to my pure astonishment and ran into the lady again, because she went slowly the other way through the forest. She looked at me as if she never saw me before and said – Hello there, how are you today? ๐Ÿ˜€ That was such a perfect “Twighlight zone” effect, as I was wondering who’s crazy, me or her, but I decided not to contemplate too much on it. I just replied – Very well thank you, how are you? – to which she responded – I’m fine, too. See you tomorrow! Tomorrow?? Where? And who was she in the first place? Maybe I should better stick to indoor photography… ๐Ÿ˜€

There are more wild flower photos, I’ll post them soon – hope you’ll enjoy them!

6 thoughts on “And now… something entirely different! :)

  1. Great post! Whatever you do, please keep the camera out but do not stick with indoor photography. Your outdoor photography is excellent. Great captures on the butterflies. Thanks for sharing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thank you so much Jim, your words are so encouraging and wonderful! I promise I’ll try to make more outdoor photos, it’s hard however because I rarely go anywhere; photography however can be a great tool to help me focus more on the shot I can get and less on the inevitable anxiety. Indoor shots can never be so nice because there is never that direct sunshine to make colors enough vibrant and totally unique – I really enjoyed this little “photo session”. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks a lot again, I’ll be visiting your garden in a minute! ๐Ÿ™‚ All the very best, Tanja

  2. Wow, your outdoor photos are great! We also have to be careful about the ticks here. I agree with Jim, I hope you take more outdoor photos. Happy weekend, Judy

    1. Thank you a lot Judy, for your wonderful words and for being there with me and for me with every post almost from the very beginning! Your blog definitely inspired me to get back to taking some photos again which is indeed very precious to me, maybe one day I’ll manage to find right words to express how much all this was important. It’s the beginning of a new road and being outdoors is not easy, but I’ll do my best to stay on the track. Happy weekend to you too! ๐Ÿ™‚ Take care, Tanja

  3. I’m glad to see you’ve been out! The photos are lovely but the story is even better. I should probably get my camera out too; it’s not used a lot these days.

    1. Thank you very much! I’ve been a little bit busy these days, I didn’t have a very happy birthday or weekend in general because my dad is not doing very well, so I’m sorry I didn’t reply sooner – I think I’ll manage to reply to your longer comment tomorrow! I like talking to you, I think we have many things in common – I hope you’re doing well these days! I’m glad you liked both the photos and the story – very often when I do something I have many ideas how to describe what has happened or how I felt about it, but usually I just let it go or in the end get too tired to write that down – it would be great to change that habit, I would love to write more. ๐Ÿ™‚ By all means keep your camera out, when you make a nice shot it always brightens even a very hard day! My camera hasn’t been used for literally years and now I regret it – I realized that it’s such a good distraction when I’m out to help not to think much about how anxious I am because of being out in the first place. Take care and I’ll talk to you tomorrow! All the best, Tanja

Leave a Reply

