Moss rose – Mediterranean variety

moss rose

moss rose

For quite a while I thought that every moss rose story inevitably faded away with last leaves that fall off the trees in autumn. Three years ago I was offered a hanging variety, it lasts really long, the woman said. I am always for experiments when it comes to flowers so I was more than willing to give it a try, not knowing what to expect. I was positively surprised by these cute, small needle like pink petals opening everywhere along their green cascading branches, but I made a mistake of pulling them out of the earth when they seemed withered for good with the arrival of winter. Last year I was very happy to see them again at the market, noticing however that they cost a lot more than the normal variety. They were sold by one quite interesting fellow who spoke Serbian with strong Russian accent – he explained that these are called Mediterranean moss roses, that they always have this same color and most importantly, that they are – perennials, meaning that they typically last for more than one year! Mediterranean climate in winter is way milder that our continental one, but still the Russian said if I covered the withered sprouts and roots with leaves and if the temperatures didn’t fall too low, the plants should survive. I did as I was told, and this year’s spring invigorated them to grow triple in size in comparison to how they looked last year. Hopefully, they will be here to cheer up the atmosphere the next year as well. πŸ™‚

Shooting these photos was quite challenging, as they hang in cascades over the balcony’s box and I live on the second floor πŸ˜€ I could have dived down right onto my head, but fortunately I both survived and got some decent shots! πŸ˜€ Can you believe that I don’t have prominent fear of heights? I know, seems incredible even to me, but certain phobias simply had to miss me somehow. πŸ™‚ Happy day everybody!

2 thoughts on “Moss rose – Mediterranean variety

    1. Thank you, I’m glad that my photos manage to spread joy around! πŸ™‚ Enjoy your weekend, have a great Sunday! Hugs and best wishes, Tanja πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

