Geraniums – other varieties

Geranium

Geranium

Geranium

Here comes the sequel of the geranium story – these varieties are more classic, easier to grow from sprouts, have bigger flowers, but are less resistant to hard direct sunshine… in spite of their stunning blossom colors, I somehow prefer those tiny velvet-white little flowers I shared with you yesterday. They are no bigger than a fingernail, yet so strong and really charming. πŸ™‚
Today’s geranium beauties are blossoming very well this year because we’re having tons of clouds and rain, even now in July – temperatures rise and fall like crazy every single day which is extremely unusual here where I live, and also very challenging health wise. Nevertheless, I’m doing my best to focus on these beautiful images to help me go through each of these days. It will also be a wonderful reminder of the fruits of this year’s summer, once the autumn and winter set in, putting nature to one more temporary sleep. πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Geraniums – other varieties

    1. Yes, honestly just watering and removing dead leaves is enough πŸ™‚ and each time I put a green branch in water it sprouted and if planted afterwards, it always lived πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you very much, I’m very happy that you like them! πŸ™‚ I would very gladly share my geraniums with you if I could! πŸ™‚ It generally depends on climate conditions of course, but if July-August is the hottest part of the year where you live, it is definitely not late for geranium plants, you just need to get a fully developed plant in a pot and it will surely blossom. They are good bloomers even in autumn, if there is still a bit of sunshine – I leave them in my outside earth boxes all the time until temperature reaches 50-40 degrees, then I bring them in because they can’t survive frost. It would be late now if you wanted to take let’s say one green branch, put it in water and wait for the sprouts to plant it, it would take at least a month and a half / two months to get any flowers, but that can be done in spring. πŸ™‚ So developed plant in a pot (left in pot or replanted in earth) should bring you beautiful flowers for at least 2 if not 3 more months in climate like mine, which is continental – 4 seasons, strong winter and hot summers. πŸ™‚ Just be sure to remove flower branches once they wither, as well as dry, yellow or dead leaves. A bit of standard fertilizer every 2 weeks should help you get even more bloom, but even without it they are great. All the best! πŸ™‚

    1. I’m really glad that you liked my flowers and it is very nice of you to reblog my post, thank you very much! I’m sorry for being late with the reply, I was having massive computer problems – let’s hope that there are better digital days ahead! πŸ™‚ Thanks again and all the best!

Leave a Reply

